Lime 88

11 02 2010

Last Tuesday, I went out with my high school girl friends LR and LL while hubby went out for a jamming session with Nota Republic (who will perform on February 20 at SMX). I went to Cyma in Greenbelt 2 while he went to ROAA Studio in Mandaluyong. Unfortunately though, I wasn’t able to take any pictures of my dinner. When I went home that night, about to jump into my pyjamas, hubby called me and said I have to go with them to this “bar” because they’re celebrating something.

He gave me the news and it really is worth celebrating for! Our good friend PP has finally found a new girlfriend! After seven years! Woooot! πŸ™‚ He’s a good friend of hubby and he’s a brilliant lawyer (law school valedictorian and bar top notcher) but what use is that if you can’t share it with someone special, right? Finally, he caved in and got himself a new girl friend! Okay, time for a celebration indeed.

Hubby picked me up from our place and I was thinking the whole time, “is there a good bar in Mandaluyong?”Β  We headed to the Mandaluyong circle, entered that familiar road going to my designer’s shop (that corner where Tapa King is)Β  and turned right at San Rafael St. I was like, “wtf are we doing in this neighborhood?” Then, I was welcomed with a street lined with cars on both sides. Apparently, all those cars had the same destination. Like us, they went to Lime 88.

Signage. You won’t miss it. It’s at 160 San Rafael St.

It’s an old house converted into a bar/resto. Most tables are outside of the main house, without roof of course. Inside the house, we saw a pool table. That night, it drizzled so we had to move all the tables to the roofed area and surprisingly, all the tables were accommodated. Don’t expect anything fancy with the interiors. As I said, it’s just an old house transformed into a bar.

What I noticed is that in the logo, it says “Street Food na Pina-Sosyal.” That basically captures what their menu covers.

Among others, they have Sossy Scramble which is the usual pink-colored-vanilla-flavored ice shaving we top with skimmed milk and Hershey’s brown cow πŸ™‚ I remember buying those every afternoon outside our school. Because in Lime 88, street food is sosyal, Sossy Scramble is served on Sundae glasses and is also topped with marshmallows. They also have Curried Fish Balls which is the familiar fish balls we buy on the streets but with a twist – it is coated in red curry and coriander and served with Thai chili. To step it up a bit more, they also have Balut in Red Wine Sauce πŸ™‚ It’s balut that’s coatedΒ  in a batter then served with a special red wine sauce.

Don’t you just love the way they made street food sound so sosyal?! πŸ™‚ I love it! It makes me want to bring my balikbayan relatives and foreign friends there! It’s like making them experience our street food at a different level. Nothing would beat the real experience though, but hey, sosyal na street food! Why not? πŸ™‚

Our group were unanimous about our favorites though: KWEK-KWEK and ISAW. And that’s precisely what we ordered πŸ™‚

Quail Egg Tempura

Sosyal na kwek-kwek! In Lime, it’s called Quail Egg Tempura. It’s served in a champagne glass with soy mirin sauce and sinamak. Check out the plate,Β  it has some artsy garnish/decor at the side πŸ™‚

Street Style Barbecue Platter

Sosyal na isaw! In Lime, it’s called Street Style Barbecue Platter and is served with sinamak and peanut sauce. It came with tomato slices inside a wine glass as garnish.

I enjoyed the experience in Lime 88 πŸ™‚ The food was great, can’t go wrong with familiar street food. It still can’t beat the kwek-kwek and isaw we buy from our suki along the streets but it’s still worth coming back there πŸ™‚

If you want to go there, here’s their number 02-533-7515. Let me know if you need directions πŸ™‚

Actions

Information

One response

31 05 2011
Lady

directions please:)

Leave a Reply

